So if you haven’t seen it yet, here’s the trailer for the Micheal Mann’s new film, Public Enemies, staring Johnny Depp as Johnn Dillinger and Christian Bale as the FBI agent after him (Seriously, when does this guy find the time to shove his mother around and curse people out?).

The movie is based on Bryan Burrough’s book Public Enemies: America’s Greatest Crime Wave and the Birth of the FBI, 1933-34, which recounts how the depression era crime spree of infamous bank robbers like Dillinger, Bonnie and Clyde, and Ma Barker, turned the FBI from a minor government agency to the law enforcement institution that it is today. Within minutes of watching it, I came to several conclusions: 1) this summer is going to have some awesome movies, 2) Michael Mann does for heist movies what Van Gogh did for paintings of hay fields and 3) I’m totally going to start robbing banks.

With the current economic situation, a lot of people have predicting we’ll begin seeing depression era culture mixing into our present day 21st century; designers have begun copying the styles of the time, tent cities of vagabonds have returned, etc. And so what better time then to reinvent myself as a Dillinger-esk hero of the people bank robber?

I can’t stop daydreaming about this. I’ve begun devising elaborate getaways with intricately timed distractions to tie up the police while I make my escape. I’m thinking about which of my friends I should include in my “crew.” I’ve already decided that I have to wear a suit while I do it—honestly, modern bank robbers where is your sense of style? I’m plotting elaborate ruses for possible hostage situations (which would probably be a part of my plan from the beginning). And as I’m rehearsing how I’ll say the phrase “No body be a hero,” and debating whether to use a gun (like De Niro in Heat) or just my personality (a la Clooney in Out of Sight).

But let’s be honest, this idea was already implanted in my head. Pulling off a heist is a one of the key male fantasies (Yes, Dane Cook did a bit about this when he was still funny). I believe that deep down, every man thinks about pulling off an elaborate theft of some kind. And it’s not just for the money (which would be nice) or the sex appeal (even better), it’s for the understanding that the only reason we don’t break society’s rules (not to be like Dillinger, for example) is because we agree to. In the end, the only thing that’s stopping us is, well, us.

In reality, I know I’ll never be a bank robber. But the knowledge that I could if I wanted to is incredibly thrilling. Maybe I’ll just start wearing a fedora, though I suspect people would respect me more if I was a thief.

