06_kevinsmith_lgl

I’m going to see Kevin Smith at Carnegie Hall tonight and I’m kind of psyched. Over the past few years, Smith, the auteur behind such movies as Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Dogma and more, has a found a niche on the lecture circuit answering questions from the audience and telling anecdotes of his personal life and film making career.  It’s actually really entertaining and the various events have been filmed and edited into a couple DVDs.

Anyway, I’ve spent the past two weeks racking my brain trying to come up with what I can ask Smith.  It has to be unique, funny, and a great jumping off point for him to regale the audience with an engrossing tale (though it’s hard to beat his account of writing a Superman movie that never got made in the late 90’s).  And I think I came up with a good one. Here it is:

Way back in 2001, I went with some friends to go see the movie Vulgar that Smith had produced under his View Askew production company.  He even had a small cameo role.  For some reason, we had decided to see it in theaters without really know what it was about.  All we knew was that Smith had produced it and the poster had a noir-ish clown in a trench coat and holding a gun.  We thought at the very least it could be fun…it wasn’t.

The plot revolves around a birthday clown played by Brian O’Halloran (Dante from Clerks) who comes up with the bizarre idea to make extra money by performing as some sort of cross-dressing gag/burlesque/stripper clown for bachelor parties—the notion being that it would be a great prank to pull on the groom before the real stripper arrives—and takes out an ad for his services.  On his first gig, he’s held against his will by a father and his two adult sons who beat and repeatedly gang rape him.  Yeah.  Around this point in the movie, the few other people in the theater left and one my friends screamed, “You took me to a clown raping movie!”  After the gang raping incident, O’Halloran’s character becomes a popular children’s TV star and is soon blackmailed by his rapists who videotaped their encounter. The film then devolves into a sort of revenge thriller.

So my question for Smith is this: What the hell was up with that movie?

Let’s hope I get to ask it.

[Pic via nymag.com]

