photo(4)A couple weeks ago, I was reading the Taste Test column in the AV Club.  If you’re unfamiliar with the feature, allow me to explain: it’s a reoccurring article series in which the brave men and women of the Onion’s arts and reviews publication actually eat the most bizarre food artifacts that pop up on the flotsam and jetsam of American foodstuff.  From KFC’s new Double Down sandwich being test marketed in Delaware and Omaha (it replaces the bun with fried chicken filets) to the latest bacon infused product, they throw themselves on the calorie/taste/common-sense-defying grenade and report back to the reader.  Anyway, one of their most recent forays in flavor adventure was the Kool-Aid Pickle.

I know.  I hadn’t heard of it either, but apparently it’s a rising delicacy in the south (of course).  The recipe is fairly simple: make a pitcher of Kool-Aid, dump out the brine from a jar of dill pickles, rinse the pickles, put them back in the jar and fill it with the Kool-Aid, then let the concoction sit in your fridge for a week.  Check out this great article in the New York Times that really explores where the hell this came from.

To say I was intrigued is to put it mildly.  Trying out daring and borderline stupid things that I’d read about online is a passion of mine.  It’s also why I don’t have any eyebrows, walk with a limp, and can never return to Denmark.  So my immediate reaction was: “I’m totally doing this.”  I was able to talk Kate into trying it with surprising ease.  She even let me leave it in her fridge.  One of the biggest gaps in our relationship has been Kate’s love of sweet foods, while I prefer salty.  So I was hopeful that we’d found something to enjoy together.  Some un-holy union of salty and sweet that would allow us to finally come together in our taste preferences.  We anxiously waited through the week until last night, when I dug the jar out from the back of her fridge, cracked it open, handed a pickle to Kate, took one for myself, and…photo(2)

Eh, it was okay.  Kool-Aid Pickles are completely edible, but nothing to write home about.  It basically tastes like a pickle you spilled Kool-Aid on at a barbeque and just ate it anyway.  I kind wish I hadn’t added the Kool-Aid and just ate the pickles.

